Daylight Savings Time Coma

It’s an absolute necessity. Daylight Savings time seems to overtake the classroom on both ends of student and teacher. Today was a nice catch up day with my students who were at the author skype on Friday and a good review for the students that were present for our connotation/denotation discussion in the first place.

I don’t have much to say today. It was a nonstop day, but here are some good lines I heard today in my teaching endeavors:

– “I just want.. to be better.”

– “You know, back in the day Miss! It was a Wednesday!” (appropriate Dane Cook reference by 10th graders always make me smile.)

– “Miss  (that’s me!) has a sweet tooth, but only at certain times, you have to catch her exactly when it happens or she’ll go and be a traitor and buy candy from somewhere else!” (what!? a girl gets hungry…)

– Me: “what does this face say?” Student: “That I probably should sit down and stop taking things off your desk?” Me: “Well played, grasshopper.”

– Student: “I get to teach tomorrow? For real!? YES!” (socratic day in debate class tomorrow, they fight over who gets to run the socratic.)

– Senior student who is having trouble passing FCAT (required to graduate) : “Miss (me again!), when I pass the ACT or the  FCAT, will you throw me a pizza party?” (I might’ve said yes. ::guilty::  is that bad?)

And those are just a few glimpses into my day. Not bad, not exceptional, but good in general :).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daylight Savings Time Coma

  1. Nice, they seem to be growing, getting ready to graduate.

  2. Cathy says:

    Not too bad for the first day since Daylight Savings Time. I was smiling to think how different the things you hear in your high school classroom are from the things I hear in my first grade classroom.

  3. Beth says:

    Deserves a pizza party!

Leave a Reply

