Beware the Ides of March

I am annoyed at the amount of times my iPhone changes the phrase “::takes bow::” to “::takes now::”. Doesn’t Apple know that I tell people that I tell people that I’m taking a bow rather often? (you know, when I roast a chicken or make it down a set of stairs without falling; same victory level, really) Either way: Happy Ideas of March everyone! For a day that has pretty glum undertones, today was a win.

I knew that it was going to be a busy day. I had to collect money for Grad Bash from the seniors (we’ll discuss later how I’m the senior class sponsor and how that means I’m in charge of grad bash, senior breakfast and graduation – and just how silly putting me in charge of those things is…) and today was the “last” day to bring in your money. (I’m sure there’ll be plenty of students asking for it next week… #preparedtobenice) I knew that even though I gave seniors two weeks to bring me money that a good many of them would bring theirs in today. But I was prepared, and so were my student officers. They saw the big line of students at each lunch and they weren’t daunted, they were ready for hard work. It’s probably the fastest of the Friday sales in the past three years I’ve held this position. While I was preparing to stay long after normal school hours to count the money and organize turning it in, it was all done shortly after the last bell rang.

Another major feat today: IKEA dresser. Yes, I bought the dresser on Sunday. Yes, I started building it on Monday. Yes, I took two days off in the middle of the week. But dangit! I finished it today! (with just a few extra screws that clearly no one will miss…) And with this new addition to my bedroom, I will soon get rid of the old broken dresser and have managed to gain extra space in my relatively small (yet useful) closet.

And now I’m off to finish laundry and continue my productive sweep, because the last time I sat down (after finishing the dresser) I fell asleep for an hour…. Ain’t nobody got time for that! 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beware the Ides of March

  1. elle1955 says:

    I love your use of parentheses. I use them often as well. They add such a nice voice to your writing.

  2. Beth says:

    Happy day since above all else….you got your post in!

Leave a Reply

