Okie Frijoles

Spent most of the day with my parents. We were shopping for the Easter Bunny (he’s so busy! sometimes we need to help him!) and went basically everywhere (groceries, mall, Walmart, etc). We found my (22 year old and aware of the true status of the Easter Bunny) brother his little present and switched coupons on a bunch of bogo stuff. Then, amidst plenty of texts saying that somewhere else in the city there was hail, rain, no power, and possible tornado touchdowns, we had dinner.

Okie Frijoles are basically my family’s open faced tacos that are the equivalent of a taco salad with Fritos. It’s my dad’s favorite homemade meal and we used to have it at least once a week. I used to HATE IT. Eventually during high school I realized that I could just make myself a makeshift quesadilla and muster through the process.

Today, when my mother called to say they were having it for dinner, I made sure I was there. It was delicious. Since high school my brother has added green peppers to the mix and I cooked some of the veggies rather than have it all cold-salad like (ew…salad…). But it’s still my dad’s favorite. It’s not like I’m going to have it once a week again, but it was a nice reminder of home and a comfortable family love.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Okie Frijoles

  1. Beth says:

    Glad you found time for family and food!

  2. Yum! I want to know how your Mom makes it.

Leave a Reply

