Traditions

Yesterday I celebrated one of my favorite days of the year: Passover. Yeah, I’m Christian. Every year for the past nine one of my best friends (he’s Jewish) throws a Passover celebration for a big group of his friends. I’ve been lucky to attend for the past 2 (3?) years and I look forward to it every year.

Is it the fact that there’s a never-ending bowl of matzo ball soup in front of me? Nope (well, that’s a perk.) Is it the brisket? Another perk. It’s the tradition that surrounds it. My favorite holidays are Christmas Eve, Thanksgiving, Easter and Passover (odd mix, I realize) because of the traditions. During the Passover dinner, we all gather in my friend’s apartment and set a table together (this year it was for a smaller than usual 17 people). We first go around the table and say what we are thankful for this year. And then we take turns reading the Seder story.

My first year in attendance I learned a lot about the whole tradition and sat in wonder about the tradition I was experiencing. This year his mom and grandma were on hand to add more information and extra laughs. This year the non-Jewish people outnumbered the Jewish people and his mom thought it was awesome that so many of us wanted to be part of the day. It’s a laid back situation with at least one appearance of a Kermit the Frog voice and comments on parts of the Seder story that we’ve never noticed. Everyone is dressed up and not in their usual shorts and tshirts.

Perhaps that’s another thing that I think is cool – it’s like we’re adults. Given, we’ve been legally adults for a while now. Several of the attendees are lawyers and teachers and doctors; people trust us with adult decisions every day. But the fact that my friend still has the time to gather us all together to reminisce past Passovers as well as learn new things is something that is really special.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Traditions

  1. Beth says:

    What a great tradition!

  2. jhaworthoy says:

    What a lovely tradition. I hope that it continues for you. Wouldn’t it be great if we all could take part in this and with other traditions from other religions…I am sure we would learn a lot and I bet there would be more acceptance and understanding of different religions. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  3. I love that you get together for Passover because of relationship and tradition..Traditions are powerful and your gathering speaks to the true reason for tradition…to be together… sharing…loving one another!

Leave a Reply

