Slacking

Today’s word is “slacking”

“Yo miss! You’re slacking”

Because I don’t know an exact point range that we’ll get to this quarter. That’s not how I run my class. He just wanted to know what kind of C he would need on his nine weeks assignment to pass.

I shouldn’t take it to heart. And usually I don’t even register these kind of remarks. But today. Today is the Monday that starts my poetry unit, the Monday that starts Grad Bash ticket sales, the Monday before the Tuesday of a data meeting and a graduation meeting, the Monday I start trying to grasp the very few amount of Mondays I have left to teach everything before FCAT and AP tests – before EOCs and ELL tests. It’s about half past the time of year I start thinking of different ways I could’ve taught things in the first semester.  It just made me feel like he was right.

So you know what I did when I got home? I slacked (that’ll show ‘em!). I finished reading my “for fun” book of the moment.  I took an hour when I got home and stepped away from my to do list. (okay okay, I RAN back, but) I still managed to get some things done for the day.

I showed him lol.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Slacking

  1. krystinicole says:

    Come to think of it. These “slacking” days come more often than not after the guilty-“unproductive” days.

    bah. it’s a circle.

  2. jarhartz says:

    It is that time of the year. What do I have to do to get by. I worked all weekend on grades thinking about the test. I made me not happy. Worried and I wasn’t my best. My time was spent on looking back and worrying about the future. Better to slack sometimes.!

  3. gill94 says:

    Lol! This is the time of year we take a close look at the remaining weeks of school. So much to do, and so little time! I enjoyed reading your slice. Now that you indulged in a little slacking time, all the best to a happy and productive remainder of the school year!

  4. Bah! You are taking care of yourself. Where is this guilt coming from? I sometimes let what the students say get to me, too.

  5. spillarke says:

    The line “That’s not how I run my class” stood out to me. You’re onto something here and it’s not at all about slacking on the job.

Leave a Reply

