Book Club

Tonight, after a long day of cleaning, I hosted my first book club. (I’ve been to them plenty of times before but I’ve never hosted). It was pretty cool. And my dog was only a diva for ten minutes(ish..).

In consulting with my grandmother and mother about what I should make that wouldn’t kill me to make after a two day debate tournament, I decided on lasagna and a bunch of finger foods.

I think it went well. If you host, you also pick the book. I absolutely love the book Soulless by Gail Carriger, so I chose that, even though I wasn’t sure everyone in the group would like it. A lot of people said they did though :). It was good conversation and led to many hilarious tangents.

So, I’m thankful for all of these things. But mostly, now, I’m thankful that in preparation for the evening: I vacumned, I gave my dog a bath, my desk is clear, my bathroom is clean, dusting happened, windex-ing happened. My apartment is clean. I may have dishes and laundry to do, but those will always be “to do.”

My bed is even made. I don’t want to get in it.. because then it will be un-made.

And goodness knows when I’ll actually make it again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Club

  1. I love the idea of hosting a book club! I’ve always wanted to, but maybe after reading your post, I will!

  2. Beth Scanlon says:

    It was fun and yum! Good job girlie!

  3. spillarke says:

    I hate that I missed it! But you do not want the sickness that I have. I can’t believe you hosted after a two-day debate tournament! That’s commitment. I heard it was fantastic. I love the line about your Mom and Grandmother.

Leave a Reply

