I’m feeling 31

So a few days ago it was my 31st birthday. I happened to see another slicer’s blog about being 20 something. So I’m gonna take that idea and run with it for my 30 somethings out there.

I’m 31 and I can make decisions for myself but I’d still like to get some reassurance that those decisions are the right ones.

I’m 31 but I still text my mother every single time I make chicken in the oven. Do I have a whole bunch of screen captures of this answer already? Sure I do. But not for that moment.

I’m 31 but my mother still wakes me up via phone call every morning for work. Can I get up by myself? Sure. But why? It’s worked so well for 31 years. Yes, I realize that I live with a boyfriend now. He doesn’t even stir when my loud ringtone goes crazy in the morning. Good to know no tornado, thunderstorm, nor Florida Georgia line Ringtone can wake him from his slumber. 

I’m 31 and I finally found myself being OK with being the adultiest adult in the room. But not all the time. Let’s not get carried away.

I’m 31 and I get to make grown up decisions like having ice cream for dinner and macaroni and cheese for breakfast. But I did finally get a primary care doctor that I can go regularly to when I get sick six times a year (usually back to back). 

I’m 31 and on my birthday one of my  friends asked me what it was like to be 31. (She’s six whole months younger than me -the jerk.) It’s the same question every year from a random human, right? Do you feel any older? You know my answer was this year? That before I had actually gotten out of bed on my birthday I had already put Icy Hot on twice. That stuff is my jam. Better than sliced bread. I’m serious – I’d rather have to pull off pieces of bread from an UNSLICED loaf than give up Icy Hot. #truelove 

I’m 31 and sometimes I just want to clean things. I just want to clean house, clean dishes, clean laundry. And sometimes that takes precedence over any of the work I bring home. Does that mean sometimes that my work from school just take a field trip in my car? Definitely. It’s a pretty well-traveled pile of papers. 

I’m 31 and I definitely don’t like every single human. But I still find that it’s important to be nice to everyone. It’s not hard. Although some people accuse me of being fake I don’t think being nice is a bad thing. I think it’s not hard to be nice to people whether you like them or not. I like being nice. 

I’m 31 and sometimes the hardest thing to do is remember to write this blog post.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m feeling 31

  1. mukhamani says:

    Being nice is nice and a smile makes a lot of difference. I am 55 🙂

  2. Happy, happy 31! Cleaning out the studio closet the other day I found a box of birthdays- a whole stack from my 30s. Fun to read with 51 year-old eyes. Choosing kind and nice is smart, not fake.

  3. Beth Scanlon says:

    I love the repetition that you use here! Happy 31!

Leave a Reply

