Really Good Bad Decisions

(best Sophia from Golden Girls impression) Picture it: my living room. There is a (rather large) stack of papers to grade on the coffee table, shoes still sitting wherever I’ve taken them off for the past couple of days, and a laptop open with plenty of unanswered emails to be taken care of.

I will be productive today. Just not right now.

Instead, I’ve made some really good bad decisions. After my long day yesterday, I slept circa a million hours (I teach English.. my math: not so good.). Then I got up this morning and went to Barnes and Nobles to research some books I’d like to have in my classroom (I won a gift card for my classroom library!). I need to put together a list for a purchase order to do so and wanted to get some physical researching done in an actual store.  I’ll put a list together this evening. Nevertheless, what did I do at B&N? Buy myself a book that I’ve been waiting for but have been too busy to realize it was already out. And I restocked my Nook Giftcard.

On my way home, I bought myself a cheeseburger and fries at Five Guys. And now, I’m sitting here eating a mountain of french fries (which are fabulous, but really just a vehicle for the yummy BBQ sauce), watching The Holiday on TBS (Dear Kate Winslet, be my best friend.).

Should I be cleaning or grading or emailing? Sure. But for now, I’ll continue to drink this very large Cherry Coke and quote this whole movie (that I own, but it’s so much easier when I don’t have to put it in the DVD player). Enjoy your day! I know I will!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Really Good Bad Decisions

  1. jhaworthoy says:

    I love…I will be productive today. Just not now. How often have we all said that to ourselves!! Sounds like you were productive…and now it is time to finish the movie and snuggle up with your new book. Your papers will be waiting for you another time.

  2. elle1955 says:

    Lovely little small moment full of delightful details that had me right beside you.

  3. Kristen says:

    Ahh. A procrastinator. I can relate. Sometimes I find that the pressure of time is my motivator. You will get it done. In the meantime enjoy your cherry coke and movie.

  4. newtreemom says:

    Glad I’m not the only one…

  5. me too…I love veggies on my pizza…but I guess eating the whole thing is not the best decision.

  6. Beth says:

    Sounds like an absolutely splendid well-deserved day! I watched Failure to Launch and still am full from some Tijuana Flats I didn’t need to eat. We need check out dayz in this profession!

  7. Tara says:

    I think you’re in good company today! 😉

  8. Lauren says:

    What a great day! The work will still be there tomorrow, but the chance to take a breather may not. Glad you took the chance and treated yourself!

  9. jen b. says:

    My absolute favorite kind of winter day. Lucky you to get to enjoy it today!

  10. Some Saturdays are perfect for this. What a great title…really good bad decisions.

  11. jmagee says:

    Sometimes, a day like this is so necessary! I love it 😉

Leave a comment